Aden Mild (“A1”)

Beer style: Mild
Target ABV: 3.0%
Ready for drinking: from 12st October 2013

I’ve had a go at brewing a “mild”. It’s a old English style of ale, generally pretty low in alcohol, lightly hopped and quite dark. It was supposedly the most popular style of beer in the 1950s but rarely found in pubs now. The aim is to get a beer that is nicely balanced, has real depth of flavour but is only 3% ABV or so. A challenge indeed!

Aden Mild

I’ve named this brew after my newly born nephew. Congratulations Connor and Grace! Hopefully by the time he’s old enough to try it I’ll have developed the perfect recipe.

Comments on the beer very welcome indeed. Just click below and tell me what you think.

2 responses »

  1. Dan says:

    Absolutely delicious. Please make more!

    I found it to be light and easy to drink like a weaker (4%) lager but much tastier.

    • jofacer says:

      So glad you enjoyed it Dan. I’ve been enjoying it too. As you say, very light and easy to drink.

      I think next time I’ll add a bit more crystal malt (which will hopefully give it a bit more malty caramel flavour) and a bit of malted wheat or maybe even oatmeal to give it a bit more body…

      I’ll definitely be brewing more and asking for your help to drink it.

Leave a Reply

