20131215-121137.jpg
My plan was to hand out my first bottles of Christmas Stout to friends at a Christmas lunch yesterday. That meant some frantic early morning label making and some far too early-in-the-day beer tasting.

I didn’t want to risk handing it out with no idea of what it tasted like. Fortunately it is good. I was chuffed. The orange and cardamom was pretty subtle (or totally undetectable!) but the overall effect is like drinking a Christmas pudding. Rich but not too sweet. Would go very nicely with some blue cheese on Boxing Day.

Hope you enjoy it.

One response »

  1. Helly says:

    I did a taste test of this at the parentals (I am not one to have unopened beer in my possession for long). Big hit. Comments included “manages to be rich but not cloying” and “liked the licoricey-aniseedy finish”. Big hit – even with those (mum) who would claim not to be stout drinkers. Yummy with strong cheddar. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

